The Close Month window in the upcoming Dentrix G7.5 release simplifies and consolidates the basic month end options  for you.

If you’ve been managing a dental office for any length of time, you‘ve probably been given advice that you need to “close the month” or “run month end.“ But what does that actually mean? 

Closing the month has become a catchphrase that means completing tasks and/or generating reports that finalizes the previous month and sets you on the right foot for a new month.  Click here to watch a video about closing the month with the upcoming Dentrix G7.5 release.

While there are several reports and tasks that your office may choose to perform each month, there are four basic tasks that all offices should complete. These include the following: 

Close Transactions – Close Transactions prevents further editing of procedures, payments, and adjustments by moving them to a “History” status. It also updates the aged balance of the accounts (30-, 60-, and 90–days).

Move Clinical Notes to History – Move Clinical Notes to History locks down unsigned clinical notes so that they can no longer be edited.

Move Perio Exams to History – Move Perio Exams to History locks down periodontal exam information so it can no longer be edited.

Reset Insurance Benefits– Reset Insurance Benefits restarts benefits used and deductibles met for insurance plans that should begin again with the new renewal month. 

You can assign these tasks (and more) to run automatically using the Dentrix Reports and Task Scheduler. However, the task scheduler can be a bit overwhelming to some users who are just looking to get the job done quickly.

Also, some office administrators prefer to handle these essential functions instead of trusting them to an automatic process. In response, Dentrix G7.5 will bring back a new and improved Month End window from which you can run the basic Month End tasks!

There are two ways to access the Month End window. In the Ledger, click Close Month on the menu bar. Or, if you’re working in the Task Scheduler, click the Close Month Now button.

At the top of the Month End window, you’ll see the last month for which transactions were closed. Using the drop-down options, choose the month and year you’d like to close. Dentrix will close all of the months up to the one you select.  Of course, Dentrix recommends that you should stay current by choosing one month before the current month.

Next, check the boxes next to the tasks to be performed. This window allows you to carry out those four essential tasks for closing the month. You also have the option to purge old appointment information from the schedule.

If you’ve already scheduled one of these tasks in the Task Scheduler, it will not be selected in the Month End window. An asterisk (*) will alert you that the task is already scheduled. If this happens, review the scheduled task in the Task Scheduler, and decide whether you want to handle it through the scheduled task or the manual process.  Click OK to run the tasks.

Closing the month is important, and it doesn’t have to be complicated. Dentrix G7.5 will give you the new Close Month window where the most basic monthly options are consolidated and simplified for you!


Learn More

Watch a video overview of the new Month End feature in the upcoming Dentrix G7.5 release, or read the Running Month End topic in Dentrix Help.

Click the following link to see other upcoming Dentrix G7.5 new features.